Skip to main content

Data Deletion

Jay Android App provides ways to delete user data from the cloud and device.

Follow the steps below to get your data deleted.

Steps​

Open the App​

Make sure, no Session is running to avoid any problems during deletion. Make sure, that the button on Free drive screen says Start free-drive, or no instance of Jay is running in the background.

Jay's home screen

Open Profile dialog​

Profile screen

Go to Settings​

Settings screen

Go to Data Settings​

Data settings screen

Expand options to see more​

Expanding an option reveals more information about them. To sum it up:

  • Delete public data: deleting public data available to everyone on the device. This means, all public data is deleted or reset, which is generated by the offline (unidentified) user.
  • Delete from device: deleting own data from the device, clearing any data stored on the device linked to you.
  • Delete from cloud: deleting all of your data from the cloud, erasing your existance from Firestore servers.
  • Delete all user data: deletes user data from the device and from the cloud.

Data settings screen with expanded option

Delete all user data​

Deleting all user data resets and stops syncing user preferences to avoid automatically uploading it to the cloud.

Go back to Settings​

And notice, that user preferences were reset and syncing was stopped, no data is sent to the cloud.

Settings screen after data deletion

Reach out​

If you encounter any problem during the process, contact me via any of the platforms listed on my GitHub Profile Page.